June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Instrumentation:ob. bc/pft.
Publisher Ref:NM100
A thoroughly researched and authoritative introduction precedes this presentation of Handel's 3 oboe sonatas which includes the Bb Major Sonata, subtitled 'Fitzwilliam'.

Price: £8.95
Editor:Lasocki, David
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Nova Music
Year of Issue:1991
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
It is thought that Handel composed these three oboe sonatas between 1707 and 1716 and probably before he settled in London in 1712. The Bb Major sonata (HWV 357) in particular has been dated to 1707 and is thought to have been written in Hanover where Handel was composer at the Elector's Court. The only source is Handel's autograph score which is held in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge, UK and the museum's name has been taken as the subtitle of this sonata. It was not published within Handel's lifetime.

In his detailed and scholarly introduction to this edition, David Lasocki discusses and compares the various sources of the C minor and F Major sonatas and describes his editorial procedures, particularly in realizing the figured bass lines.

  • Sonata No.1 in C minor, Op.1 No.8 (6.28)
  • Sonata No.2 in Bb major (Fitzwilliam) (7.38)
  • Sonata No.3 in F major (cf. Op.1, No.5) (7.20)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).