June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)
Instrumentation:ca/vc. pft. (harm) (hp)
Publisher Ref:E725
The first published edition of Liszt's Elégie for cor anglais (or cello) & piano.
Ad libitum harmonium (E725b) and harp (E725c) parts sold separately.

Price: £8.95
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2018
ISBN:none specified
This original version of the first Elégie remains Liszt’s only work for a solo woodwind instrument, and was written in memory of the recently-deceased Countess Marie Moukhanoff-Kalergis (1822-1874), who had studied with both Chopin and Liszt, and for whom Liszt had composed his Valse-Impromptu, S213. Marie had become an influential patron of many things artistic, and Liszt was deeply saddened by her death. In the days immediately following he composed a piano piece called Schlummerlied im Grabe, S195a (Lullaby in the grave). Within a very short time he developed the piece into the form presented here. The manuscripts of these two scores are held in the Nuremberg State Library, which kindly supplied photocopies to the Liszt Society, which published both pieces in its annual Journal.
The manuscript is without title, but was already being referred to in the correspondence as an Elegy for Marie Moukhanoff-Kalergis. The MS is very closely-written and much amended during the compositional process. It is designated for cello and piano, harp and harmonium. We may easily conclude that, as in the later published version, the parts for harp and harmonium are ad libitum, as is confirmed by Liszt’s writing an alternate reading for the piano left hand if the harmonium is not present. The designation for cor anglais as an alternative to the cello is clearly indicated by Liszt at the end of the MS, where he writes the incipit of the solo part in the appropriate transposition, and marks it for the cor anglais, by way of an instruction to the printer. However, Liszt had a change of mind, and wrote a further version in which the cello part extended to that instrument’s lower range in a new introduction – out of the range of the cor anglais, and this version – S130bis – was published late in 1874. Thus the present version passed into unpublished obscurity, so it a great pleasure to see it finally in print. There are many significant differences between this score and the 1874 publication, especially in the introduction and at the coda and, as always with Liszt, all the various texts of the work (there are later versions for piano, for piano duet, for cello and piano, and for violin and piano with ad lib. harmonium) are of great interest. In its time, the Elégie was very popular, and it was succeeded by a Zweite Elegie in 1877 (sadly without any mention of a wind instrument).
Source: the autograph manuscript, Nürnberg Stadtsbibliotek, shelf-mark Hs. 107023, I/6
Supplementary sources: Schlummerlied im Grabe – the autograph manuscript, Nürnberg Stadtsbibliotek, shelf-mark Hs. 107023, I/4; the first edition of the later version for cello, piano, harp and harmonium (Kahnt, Leipzig, 1875. Plate number 1828)
Extraordinarily, there were very few occasions for any kind of editorial intervention, and such as were necessary are clearly indicated within square brackets. The MS shows that the piano part at the coda was altered from a first thought of tremolo chords – some extra staves written in crayon after the signature and date contain the preferred arpeggios." - Leslie Howard, London 2018

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).