June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Postal Strikes: Royal Mail postal workers have planned industrial action on 30th September and 1st October, so there will be no collections or deliveries on those dates.
12 SONATAS Op.1 Volume 1

12 SONATAS Op.1 Volume 1

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Veracini, Francesco Maria (1690-1750)
Instrumentation:fl/rec/vn. cont.
Publisher Ref:EP4965a

Price: £15.95
Editor:Kolneder. Walter
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Peters Edition
Year of Issue:1959
ISBN:none specified
In 1714, when Veracini first visited England and played as leader of the Italian Opera orchestra, appearing as soloist between the acts, he was... "regarded as the greatest violinist in Europe" (quotation in Grove's Dictionary of Music & Musicians). By 1721 he was in Dresden and the city library there keeps an early set of twelve sonatas by Veracini, dedicated to the Elector of Saxony and published in Venice in 1716. The manuscript is titled "Sonate a Violino, o Flauto solo, e Basso......" showing that the composer had either instrument in mind for their performance. They form a significant part of Veracini's published output which Grove's says....."show(s) him to have been a musician of remarkable originality and solid attainments."
This is the first of four volumes of the 1716 sonatas published by Peters, each containing 3 of them.

  • Sonata No.1 in F major: Largo e nobile - Allegro - Largo - Allegro
  • Sonata No.2 in G major: Largo - Allegro - Largo - Allegro
  • Sonata No.3 in A minor: Largo - Allegro - Largo - Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Johanna van Fessem
Aug 4, 2020
(Verified customer)
The first volume with the first three sonatas is a bit boring. Good finger exercises.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).