June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Matosinhos, Ricardo (b.1982)
Publisher Ref:9789055520619

Price: £16.95
Publisher:Phoenix Music Publications
Year of Issue:2015
ISMN:none specified
The story behind this book started in 2010, when the 12 Jazzy Etudes for Horn were published by Phoenix Music Publications. Then in 2013, two more etude books were published - the 10 Jazzy Etudes for Horn and the 15 Low Horn Etudes. There were 13 etudes missing to reach a total of 50 etudes, but 13 is a bad luck number, so…
Arts in general and particularly performing arts have a strong tradition of superstitions and lucky charms. People know conscientiously it's all merely hollow superstitions but they keep using them as a psychological support, something that increases their confidence and so ironically it ends up working out after all. This book does not intend to demystify these traditions, but rather simply reinforce the idea that horn playing has nothing to do with good or bad luck, it is all about practicing.
Practicing helps and it is definitely the key to good playing. But sometimes we need something more, some sort of lucky charm…
However be careful and don't expect these lucky charms to work without practicing! I encourage you to use them if you feel the need to do so, even if it is the placebo effect that gives you confidence. I strongly recommend you to use them wisely but only after making sure you've done your part by practicing, or your performance might end up a terrible disaster and you'll miss all the magic in music!
Good Luck or Bad Luck it's all up to you: What, Why, Where, When, with Whom, How and How much you practice!
But, most of all, please have fun while practicing!
Ricardo Matosinhos

  • Maneki Neko
  • I'm t(h)rilled!
  • Dancing Under a Ladder
  • Four Leaf Clover
  • Devil's Waltz
  • The Broken Mirror
  • Seven Years of Bad Luck
  • Rabbit Foot
  • Adagio and Allegro
  • Black Cat
  • Cursed Overtones
  • Do It!
  • Friday - Finally

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).