June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Sheen, Graham (b.1952)
Publisher Ref:E709
A collection of progressive studies (from Grade 1-6) in a wide variety of styles, focussing on articulation, technique and phrasing. Graham Sheen has used the required scales at each level by the ABRSM and Trinity exam boards as his starting point.

Price: £8.50
Skill Level:A-D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2016
ISBN:none specified
Graham Sheen writes:
'Twenty Six Melodic Studies is intended as a supplement to preparation for grades 1 to 6. I have used as my guide the required scales at each level by both ABRSM and Trinity examination boards. The Studies remain within the compass of the set scales and arpeggios and employ only the notes which they contain. Nevertheless, the student will encounter some challenging combinations of notes within these tonalities. In addition, each study focuses, though not exclusively, on either articulation, technique or phrasing. Most importantly, the Studies cover a wide variety of styles both serious and humorous, ranging from classical models through to jazz and modern dance forms: finding the right character for each one is as essential as finding the right notes.'

  • 1. Short and Long
  • 2. Triads
  • 3. ??????? (something in Russian)
  • 4. Slow Waltz
  • 5. Black and White
  • 6. Stilts for Beginners
  • 7. Euphonium
  • 8. Dead Centre (Graveyard)
  • 9. Phrygian
  • 10. Minor - Major
  • 11. Forward March
  • 12. Langsamer Ländler
  • 13. Oldberg Variations (Homage '' J.S.B.)
  • 14. Bach went to town
  • 15. Five time 16. Slapstick
  • 17. Latin American 18. Tumbleweed Town
  • 19. Sea Song 20. Burlesque
  • 21. After Domenico Scarlatti (long after) 22. Calypso - "Cricket, one-day cricket"
  • 23. Marchmont Road Blues 24. Tango
  • 25. Scherzo 26. Rum-baa-baa

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).