June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Colin, Charles (1832-1881)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:JP1085

Price: £9.95
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Jeanne Inc.
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Charles-Joseph Colin (1832-1881) was the sixth Professor of Oboe to be appointed at the Paris Conservatory. Born at Cherbourg, he received his early musical training from his father Charles-Louis Colin, who was Professor of Harmony and conductor at the Opera of Bordeaux. Charles-Joseph was a pupil of the famous oboist Gustave Vogt, but also studied organ with François Benoist and harmony with Adolphe Adam and Ambroise Thomas. Charles-Joseph was awarded first prize in oboe in 1852 at the young age of twenty. A year later he won first prize in both harmony and accompaniment, followed by the first prize in both organ and counterpoint in 1854. In 1857 he crowned his successes by winning the second Grand Prix de Rome with his cantata Clovis et Clotilde.
When Colin was awarded the position of Professor of Oboe at the Paris Conservatory in 1868, he succeeded Felix Berthélémy, who had died only one year after being appointed to the position. Following in the tradition of other teachers at the conservatory when proposing the required Concours work during his professorship, Colin drew from his own compositions or those of earlier oboe professors. He composed a total of eight Solos de Concours plus a Grande Fantaisie for oboe and piano.
In 1877, Colin was awarded Officier d’Académie for his services as a teacher, and in 1881, he was named as a Knight of the Legion of Honour just a few days before his death. Colin died during the 1881 Concours at the age of forty-nine, and was succeeded that year by his former student George Gillet as Professor of Oboe at the Paris Conservatory.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).