June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
40 MODERN STUDIES for Solo Clarinet

40 MODERN STUDIES for Solo Clarinet

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Rae, James (b.1957)
Publisher Ref:UE19735

Price: £18.50
Skill Level:A-E
Publisher:Universal Edition
Year of Issue:1991
As a performer, James Rae has played in many West End and National Theatre productions, played freelance engagements with leading British orchestras and ensembles, and led the Phoenix Saxophone Quartet for a number of years. Most of his composing is directed towards teaching and James Rae is one of Europe's most published writers of educational music with over 120 titles to his name, several of which appear in exam syllabi around the world.
These 40 studies are presented in order of increasing difficulty to help players assess their progress, and are intended to help them to get to know the various rhythms and phrasings which are typical of modern music. They are short to moderate in length in order to concentrate on the rhythm and style which is being exercised, whether it be Jazz, Rock or modern Classical.

  • 3. Sad Dance; 4. Jumpin'
  • 5. Backtrack; 6. In The Wings
  • 7. Slow Motion; 8. The Big One
  • 9. Passing Time; 10. Forever
  • 11. Tumbledown Blues; 12. In The Beginning
  • 13. Sir Neville; 14. Last Chance
  • 15. Ted's Shuffle; 16. Happy Ending
  • 17. Movin'; 18. Flying Overland
  • 19. Windy Ridge; 20. Down To Earth
  • 21. Catch It! 22. Slavonic Dance
  • 23. Dai's Surprise; 24. Exclusive
  • 25. Ambiguity; 26. On The Brink
  • 27. Now Hear This!; 28. In A Dream
  • 29. Helix; 30. All Change!
  • 31. Images; 32. Latin Jive
  • 33. Round and Round; 34. Entanglement
  • 35. Meditation; 36. Hard Rock Blues
  • 37. Frenzy; 38. Inside - Out
  • 39. Nomad; 40. Oiled Wheels

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Andrew Martin
Aug 24, 2023
(Verified customer)
An interesting mixture of pieces across various genres
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).