June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
48 STUDIES Volume 1

48 STUDIES Volume 1

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Uhl, Alfred (1909-1992)
Publisher Ref:KLB12
24 studies which have occasionally been described as concentrating on technique at the expense of musicality. Some players enjoy the challenge of bringing out the music which may be obscured in this way.

Price: £12.99
Skill Level:C-E
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1940
ISBN:none specified
Alfred Uhl was awarded a diploma in composition from the Vienna Music Academy in 1932. After a spell as a music director in Zurich where he composed scores for cultural and industrial films, followed by WW2 service, he returned to the Academy in 1945 to teach composition, orchestration and theory and staid there until his retirement in 1980. Uhl's compositions for orchestra, chamber ensembles & instrumental, vocal & choral and film exceed one hundred. He used traditional tonal and contrapuntal idioms in his work but it is tempered with neo-classicism, atonality and serialism to produce a technically sophisticated, witty and rhythmically inventive style. His 'Divertimento for Three Clarinets and Bass Clarinet is one of the most frequently performed clarinet quartets.

Uhl's two volumes of twenty four studies each were first published in 1940 and employ much neo-romantic chromaticism and rhythmic complexity. This was to familiarise the progressing clarinettist with some of the difficulties which were appearing in contemporary music.

  • 24 untitled studies, 1 per A4 page, in a variety of keys, time signatures and tempi. Metronome marks are given for each one.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).