June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Boismortier, Joseph
Instrumentation:cl. bcl.
Publisher Ref:ALEA1019
The 9 Short Sonatas and Chaconne are masterfully crafted short pieces for two bass instruments, and are wonderfully effective in transcription for bass clarinet duet.

Price: £20.00
Arranger:Davenport, Michael and Kimberly
Publisher:Alea Publishing
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
The 9 Short Sonatas and Chaconne by J.B. Boismortier (1691-1755) were originally composed for two 'celli, two bassoons, or two gambas. They are masterfully crafted short pieces for two bass instruments, and are wonderfully effective in transcription for bass clarinet duet. Each Sonata consists of several short dance movements, while the final Chaconne is a bit longer and more challenging. While the work could be performed as a set, each individual Sonata and the Chaconne also stand on their own as valuable pieces for teaching, solo & ensemble, or recital purposes. Boismortier was a French composer of the Baroque era, known for his prolific output of accessible solo and chamber music for various instruments. His compositional language is largely imitative, so that the two duo parts are largely equal in difficulty and range. Original keys have been maintained for the most part, except where decisions were made to transpose for ease of reading. Definitions are provided for Boismortier's

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).