June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
A VOICE IN THE DARK The Philharmonia Years

A VOICE IN THE DARK The Philharmonia Years

Composer:Kok, Alexander (1926-2015)
Publisher Ref:E414

Price: £17.50
Skill Level:N/A
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2002
ISMN:none specified
A Voice in the Dark is the anecdotal autobiography of a supremely talented cellist. Alexander Kok (always known as Bobby) was only nineteen when he was recruited for the first rehearsal of the legendary Philharmonia Orchestra, where he suddenly found himself in the world of experienced professionals. His career brought him into contact with many of the giants of the musical world and he brings them alive with sensitivity, coupled with acute observation. His insights into the techniques of cello-playing make this a valuable text. His lifelong search for beauty and 'higher awareness' in music, architecture and landscape forms a thread which runs throughout the book.
Classic cars play a fairly large part too (particularly Alvis), a passion which he shared with both Karajan and Dennis Brain.
He fell in love with France while studying with Fournier and Casals and retired to Normandy at the end of his playing career. Using his accumulated knowledge he crested a building in France with a p

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).