June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
ALLEGRO CON FUOCO from New World Symphony

ALLEGRO CON FUOCO from New World Symphony

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Dvorak, Antonin (1841-1904)
Instrumentation:picc. 4fl. afl. bfl. (cbfl)
Publisher Ref:FC-PDL7

Price: £27.95
Arranger:Long, Paige D.
Publisher:Falls House Press
Year of Issue:2015
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Antonin Dvorak’s Symphony No 9 in E Minor, opus 95 “from the New World” is perhaps this Bohemian composer’s most well known and loved composition. Premiered at Carnegie Hall on December 16, 1893, the “New World” Symphony was the first work Dvorak completed during his 2½ year stay in America or his “new world.”
In 1888, wealthy American arts patron, Jeannette Meyer Thurber, founded the National Conservatory of Music in New York City. In 1891, Thurber’s wish was to find a musical director for the conservatory with an international reputation. Many American musicians were very interested in the position, but American music had not yet developed a global reputation. So, Thurber invited Antonin Dvorak to become the director of the conservatory. At the time, Dvorak was a music professor at the Prague Conservatory in Austria-Hungary, which is now known as the Czech Republic. In 1892, Dvorak accepted the position as the director of the National Music Conservatory, which was the forerunner of what we today know as The Juilliard School.
While in New York, Dvorak began composing works with a distinct American flavour. Using melodies and motifs reminiscent of American folk tunes, Dvorak masterfully created the famous Symphony No 9, “New World.” This began a legacy to a style of music that was distinctly American.
The Allegro con fuoco, the fourth and final movement of the “New World” Symphony, is originally scored for full symphonic orchestra. Although the orchestral work does not include piccolo, this flute choir arrangement uses piccolo to cover the very high passages of the first violin section.
Scored for piccolo, flutes 1-4, alto flute, bass flute with optional contrabass flute, this arrangement is crafted for flute ensembles of many sizes. For large flute choirs, the divisi sections create the lush harmonic texture found in the original work. Smaller flute choirs will also enjoy performing this treasured work by simply using the top notes of divisi sections.
On July, 20, 2014, the Metropolitan Flute Orchestra, in summer residence at New England Conservatory, premiered the flute orchestra arrangement of Dvorak’s Allegro con fuoco from the New World Symphony. Director Paige Dashner Long created this arrangement for the ensemble’s 2014 concert tour to Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).