June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Postal Strikes: Royal Mail postal workers have planned industrial action on 30th September and 1st October, so there will be no collections or deliveries on those dates.


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Daughtrey, Nathan (b.1975)
Instrumentation:fl. perc.
Publisher Ref:21420
Spanish for the colour blue, Azul is a two-movement work that explores the contemplative mood of the vast icy-blue glaciers of Antarctica and the infernal unpredictability of sapphiric flames.

Price: £25.95
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:C Alan Publications
Year of Issue:2014
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Percussion (5-octave marimba, vibraphone, 2-octave crotales, optional sizzle cymbal)

Programme Notes:
The title, Azul, is simply Spanish for the colour “blue.” The two movements represent two opposing incarnations of the colour blue. The first movement, Cerulean Ice, features only metallic keyboard percussion and begins with fairly harshly struck unison 5ths in the crotales and vibraphone. The contemplative mood is meant to suggest the vast icy-blue glaciers of Antarctica. The second movement, Sapphiric Fire, utilizes only the marimba with the flute. The “infernal” tempo and constantly shifting meters/pulses represents the unpredictability of the element fire. It functions much like a rondo, insistently returning to the opening motivic materials, while also bringing in some elements from the first movement.

Also providing shaped and context for the work is the short, dark poem by Robert Frost, "Fire & Ice."

Fire & Ice by Robert Frost
Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

"Azul" was commissioned by the Apollo Duo (Stefanie Abderhalden, flute and Jeremy Johnston, percussion)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).