June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Perkins, Laurence
Instrumentation:bn/minibn/tnrn. pft.
Publisher Ref:E726
A collection of 33 original, imaginatively titled solos for the beginner bassoonist, following the adventures of a bear. Each tune adds a new note, as well as other musical essentials. Piano parts are in C, F (tenoroon) and G (mini-bassoon).

Price: £9.95
Sub Title:A Musical Adventure for Beginner Bassoonists
Skill Level:A
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2018
ISBN:none specified
"Bassoon Bear is a collection of short solos for beginner bassoonists - miniature musical drawings following the adventures of a bear. The bassoon has a history of associations with animals, including The Playful Pachyderm (Gilbert Vinter), L’aprés-midi d’un dinosaur (Gordon Jacob) and the bear character in Richard Strauss’s Duet-Concertino for clarinet, bassoon and orchestra.
In this collection, there are 33 original solos, each with an imaginative title and each tune adding a new note for the young player. Other musical essentials are also added en route, including slurs, phrasing and organised breathing, dynamics, different time signatures, articulations and basic Italian terms. The piano parts are deliberately very easy technically, hopefully making it feasible for teachers to accompany their students. The tunes can be played solo, but where possible it would be better to play them with the piano part. In the first 12 tunes, the piano doubles the bassoon line, to help with rhythm and the experience of ensemble coordination in the early stages. The piano parts are in C, F for ‘quart’ tenoroon, and G for ‘quint’ mini-bassoon.
Each piece has its own individual musical character according to the title, and in this respect - although not remotely ‘contemporary’ as such - some interesting and unusual harmonies are employed. This will hopefully introduce the young player to some of the special sound-worlds of 20th and 21st century music, and perhaps whet the appetite for more explorations of a wide range of musical genres." - Laurence Perkins

Fagottbärchen ist eine Sammlung von 33 kurzen Solos für Fagottanfänger (für C-Fagott/Quartfagott in F/Quintfagott in G), jeweils mit fantasievollem Titel, welche die Abenteuer eines Bären schildern.
Jede Melodie wird für den jungen Spieler um einen Ton erweitert, sowie um andere musikalische Details. Zum Beispiel: Bindebögen, Phrasierung und richtige Atemtechnik, Dynamik, verschiedene Taktangaben, Artikulation und elementare italienische Begriffe.
Vom technischen Standpunkt sind die Klavierbegleitungen sehr einfach.
Bei den ersten zwölf Melodien spielen Klavier und Fagott genau dieselben Töne. Dies unterstützt den Rhythmus und fördert von allem Anfang an die Ensemblekoordination.
(German translation by Mark Harris)

Bassoon Bear est une collection de 33 morceaux courts pour jeunes bassonistes débutants. Chacun a un titre accrocheur représentant une aventure de l’ours, qui donne l’opportunité au jeune musicien d’apprendre une nouvelle note, et en même temps d’assimiler d’autres details soutenant la musique, notamment la technique des liaisons, le phrasé et comment organiser la respiration. Ils apprennent aussi la dynamique, les métriques différentes, l’articulation et les termes Italiens les plus importants. Les partitions de piano sont de niveau très facile. Pendant les premiers 12 morceaux, le piano double la ligne du basson pour renforcer le rythme et pour encourager un sens de l’ensemble dès le début.
(French translation by Rachel Pugh)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).