June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Martin, Theresa
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:PM30019
Character Sketches was commissioned by Anne Watson. The movements capture the most entertaining aspects of her personality.
See Description tab for more detail...

Price: £19.95
Publisher:Theresa Martin
Year of Issue:2003
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Program Notes:
Character Sketches was written for Anne Watson, who commissioned the work. When I began writing the piece, I asked Anne to describe herself to me. Using both Anne's description and my own based on my experience with her as a teacher, fellow clarinetist, and friend, I wrote the movements hoping to capture the most entertaining aspects of her personality.
In the first movement, I pictured a conversation developing between the clarinet and piano. Each instrument takes turns being the "talker" and "listener." The constant motion depicts the idea of a talkative, outgoing, friendly person.
The second movement starts with a smooth, lyrical melody in the clarinet with a calm, steady accompaniment in the piano. In the middle section, the clarinet becomes more passionate with its dotted rhythms, and the piano takes on a mocking tone with its minor-second clusters. By the end of the movement, the clarinet returns to its original melody, with added syncopated rhythms to give it an improvisatory feel that is free of the beat.
Movement III has a slow, bluesy introduction that leads into a quicker blues feel with a jazzy bass line in the piano. In the middle of the movement, I occasionally mixed up the meter by omitting an eighth note from a 6/8 time signature to make a 5/8 time signature. In the end, the clarinet and piano return to material from the beginning of the movement, but at a quicker tempo.
The fourth movement begins with a bright, cheery, light melody in the clarinet coupled with a fast, waltz-like accompaniment that implies mischief. The movement travels through sections that are teasing, jazzy, passionate, and sneaky.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).