June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Francaix, Jean (1912-1997)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:ED4745
Five dances from three Latin American countries by a composer whose distinctive neoclassical style rejected atonalism.

Price: £16.99
Sub Title:5 Danses Exotiques
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1962
ISBN:none specified
Coming from a musical family gave Jean Françaix a head start as a composer, and the first of his more than two hundred works was published when he was ten. He went on to study with Nadia Boulanger, who is said to have been the most celebrated teacher of composition of the twentieth century and thought of Françaix as one of her best pupils, if not the best. He was influenced by the composers he admired - Chabrier, Stravinsky, Ravel and Poulenc and developed his own 'neoclassical' style which was light in texture and free with witty interplay between musical lines, "....reject(ing) atonality and formless wanderings".
The "Cinq danses exotiques" (5 Exotic Dances) date from 1961 and are dedicated to Marcel Mule. They start with "Pambiche" which is a four bar tune, repeated, and followed by six four bar variations, each of which is also repeated, all ending in a wry little coda. Next comes "Baiao", marked "con morbidezza" (soft, delicate), it has a sustained saxophone line and an accompaniment which is not far from ragtime. Both the "Mambo" and "Samba lente" have percussive off beat accompaniments and this is pronounced in the finale "Merengue".

  • I. Pambiche (Dominica)
  • II. Baiao (Northern Brazil)
  • III. Mambo (Cuba)
  • IV. Samba lenta (Brazil)
  • V. Merengue (Dominica)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Damien Evans
Oct 20, 2022
(Verified customer)
Perfect condition, easy to read. Lovely piece and a wonderful workout for precise articulation.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).