June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CLARINET CONCERTO No.1 in F minor Op.73

CLARINET CONCERTO No.1 in F minor Op.73

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Weber, Carl Maria von (1786-1826)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:M060029479
One of 3 works for clarinet and orchestra which Weber wrote in 1811 to be played by Heinrich Bärmann. It is ranked near the summit of the clarinet concerto repertoire.

Price: £12.99
Arranger:Simon, Eric
Editor:Simon, Eric
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:1962
ISBN:none specified
It is said that, after Mozart, Weber was the first major composer to write distinguished music for the solo clarinet and, possibly through his friendship with the outstanding clarinettist Heinrich Joseph Bärmann (1784-1847), he so well understood the nature of the instrument that, some say, no composer since has written for it more sympathetically.

As a result of hearing Heinrich Bärmann give the first performance of Weber's Concertino for clarinet and orchestra, Op.26, at a concert in Munich on 5 April 1811, the King of Bavaria commissioned from Weber another two concertos for Bärmann. The first of these, in F minor was finished six weeks later and first performed on 13 June when, to quote the composer "...Bärmann gave a quite superb performance...". Publication was delayed until 1824 and significant differences between the autograph score and the first edition indicate that Weber changed the solo part in the copy he sent for engraving, which is lost. Later editions included changes to the composer's original on the dubious grounds of 'performing tradition' and this edition sought to correct that by reference to Weber's autograph, as explained by Eric Simon in his introduction.

  • Allegro
  • Adagio ma non troppo
  • Rondo, Allegretto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).