June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(2 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bowen, York (1884-1961)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:E166

Price: £16.50
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1985
ISBN:none specified
Edwin York Bowen was born in London in 1884, the youngest son of the owner of the Whisky distillers Bowen & McKechnie. He made his musical debut when he was 8 as the soloist in a Dussek piano concerto. At the age of 14 he won the Erard Scholarship to the Royal Academy of Music, where he studied the piano with Tobias Matthay, and composition with Frederick Corder. As a student he won many important prizes for both piano playing and composition, and when he left the Academy he had also won the Medal of the Worshipful Company of Musicians. By the time he was 20 his works (including three piano concertos) had been successfully performed and admired by such conductors as Hans Richter and Sir Henry Wood.
During the First World War he served in H.M.Scots Guards, eventually transferring to the Regimental Band as a horn and viola player. He contracted pneumonia whilst in France and was brought back to England by his wife, who was an ambulance driver. After the war he experienced financial pr

  • Allegro poco scherzando
  • Finale: Allegro moderato - Moderato, tranquillo - Allegro assai - Largamente

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(2 reviews)  

2 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Mr Tim Pratt
Nov 1, 2020
(Verified customer)
A great piece by a composer I hadn't previously come across but definitely want to explore more now. Delivery was prompt with no issues. The only minor niggle is that the paper could do with being a bit less glossy as it can be a bit tricky to read due to reflections.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mike Halliday
May 16, 2020
(Verified customer)
Nicely printed edition of an excellent concert piece; serious music that is still easy to listen to, not too demanding for the player, but not without its challenges! Late romantic feel, not unlike Brahms or Stanford, but definitely with an English feel and certain quirkiness.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).