June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Rietz, Julius (1812-1877)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:MR1829
Written by one of the most influential musicians in Germany of the time, this piece owes much to Rietz's friend Mendelssohn and is smaller in scale and content than a 'full blown' nineteenth century concerto.

Price: £14.85
Editor:Ledward, James
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Musica Rara
Year of Issue:2000
ISBN:none specified
At the age of 16, Julius Rietz was employed as a cellist in the Berlin Königsstadt Theatre, and it was there that he had his first composing success of opera and stage music before moving to Düsseldorf in 1834 as second conductor of the Opera under Mendelssohn, a friend of the Rietz family. His incidental music for Shakespeare's 'Macbeth' and 'Hamlet' were particularly well received, and he succeeded Mendelssohn in 1834, but gave up the Opera to take over the Musical Directorship of Düsseldorf, where he stayed for twelve years. There followed conducting posts in Leipzig, including the Gewandhaus Orchestra and teaching Composition at the Conservatory, culminating in Rietz's appointment to conduct the Royal Opera in Dresden by the King of Saxony in 1860, where he seems to have staid until his death.

Largely due to his conducting, Rietz was one of the most influential musicians in Germany for some time. His legacy of compositions, consisting mainly of operas and stage works although he did write symphonies, overtures and concertos, are technically masterly if lacking vitality. His Concert Piece is undated but is possibly a late work because of its relatively high opus number. It is written in three sections, rather than movements, which are played without breaks and Mendelssohn's influence can be heard throughout, but the finale's singing solo line sounds quite operatic at times. The editor James Ledward ends his introduction with this advice. "The solo part lacks the technical brilliance of the romantic concerto of that time being conceived on a smaller and lighter plane - this should be born in mind when performing this work."

  • Andante sostenuto
  • Intermezzo - Allegretto con moto
  • Finale - Allegretto animato

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).