June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Seiber, Matyas (1905-1960)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:ED10341
A five movement work which took 25 years to mature into its concertino form from its conception on a train journey in 1926.

Price: £12.99
Arranger:Wurzburger, Walter
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1953
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
While studying with Kodaly at the Music Academy in Budapest, Hungary, Mátyás Seiber developed an interest in medieval plainchant and folk music which was to influence his later composition. At the age of 22 he moved to Frankfurt to take up a lecturing post and it was there that he established the first academic study of jazz, in the early 1930's. Seiber joined a ship's string quartet as cellist to escape the growing threat of Nazism and settled in London in 1935 where he joined the staff of Morley College to teach musical appreciation. By the late 1940's, he had built up a considerable reputation as a home-based composition teacher and composer and attracted students from all over Europe and beyond. Seiber's composition was subject to a wide variety of influences including the work of his compatriots Kodaly and Bartok; Schoenburg and Serialism; folksong; jazz; film scores and lighter music. He died as a result of a car accident in 1960 while on an invited lecture tour in South Africa.

The Concertino for Clarinet and Strings is said to have its origins in a Divertimento for clarinet and string quartet which was sketched on a train between Frankfurt and Budapest in 1926 - 'train rhythms' may be found in the opening Toccata. It was not scored in its present form until 1951 and published in 1953. The work reflects Seiber's interest in neoclassicism, which was fashionable at the time and the first movement Toccata is in modified sonata form with a brief development and recapitulation which employs Serialist technique. The 'Variazioni semplici' are simple variations on an attractive Hungarian sounding tune and are followed by the rather biting Scherzo with strong jazz references. The 'Recititivo' is an atmospheric, folky piece, reminiscent of Bartok and his influence can also be heard, with Kodaly's, in the quick dance of the Finale whose coda hints at the end of the train journey in the Hungarian capital.

  • Toccata
  • Variazioni Semplici
  • Scherzo
  • Recitativo (Introduzione)
  • Finale

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).