June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ridout, Alan (1934-1996)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:E87
Written in the conventional 3 movement format, quick - slow - quick, this 'little concerto' was perhaps dedicated to a promising student of the composer's.

Price: £8.50
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1978
ISBN:none specified
....I had known exactly what I wanted to do from early childhood: write music.' says Alan Ridout in his autobiography 'A Composer's Life'. Although he didn't begin to learn the piano until he was nine, Ridout gained a distinction at Grade Eight three years later by which time he had already written over one hundred works. He left school at fifteen to spend two years at the Guildhall School of Music before moving to The Royal College of Music where he studied first with Gordon Jacob and then Herbert Howells. A good number of his compositions were performed during this period at concerts of the Society for the Promotion of New Music. Ridout's first job was to take charge of music teaching in a Kentish preparatory school but his own music studies continued and branched out into electronic and microtonal techniques with Henk Badings in the Netherlands. Returning to the UK, he launched himself into the study of early music with Thurston Dart at Cambridge University and by 1964, Ridout was

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Sara De Freitas
Apr 20, 2020
(Verified customer)
Very quick delivery; excellent service
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).