June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
WE ARE OPEN FOR BUSINESS!! Important Delivery & Supply Information *Click Here*
CONCERTO No.10 in Bb major

CONCERTO No.10 in Bb major

Composer:Stamitz, Karl (1746-1801)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:Sik491K
One of several of Stamitz's clarinet concertos which survived as manuscripts, and in this case - without a score, reconstructed by an accomplished clarinettist, teacher and editor, and published for the first time.

Price: £21.50
Arranger:Michaels, Jost
Editor:Michaels, Jost
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Hans Sikorski
Year of Issue:1958
ISBN:none specified
Having served an eight year apprenticeship as a violinist in the then famous Mannheim orchestra, Carl Stamitz embarked on a career as a travelling virtuoso which took him to Paris, Prague, St. Petersburg and London where some of his works were published. Besides some 80 symphonies, he is said to have written 12 clarinet concerti, 5 of which were published, the remainder apparently surviving in manuscript. It is also suggested that he was the first to realize the solo potential of the clarinet and with his concerti, paved the way for Mozart and Weber to follow with theirs.

No date is suggested for Stamitz's tenth concerto which has survived only as a set of instrumental parts in the Austrian National Library in Vienna. Hand copied parts of the time were often inaccurate, as with this concerto, and Jost Michaels, the editor of this first published edition describes in the Preface how he had to correct a number of obvious mistakes and use the phrase marks of one part to achieve some consistency where they were missing from others. He explains his other editorial changes and how they fit into the "....thematically and rhythmically brisk and imaginative first movement and a fine expanded melodic pattern in the slow movement, the beautiful outline of which makes Stamitz rank among the great Viennese masters."

  • Allegro
  • Andante Sostenuto
  • Rondo - Poco Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).