June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT - Latest Information & Delivery Times *Click Here*
CONCERTO No.6 in Bb major

CONCERTO No.6 in Bb major

(0 reviews)  
Composer:Bond, Capel (1730-1790)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:M060013485
A four movement concerto which tends from baroque towards the 'galant' style by perhaps the best English provincial composer of the day.

Price: £12.99
Arranger:Finzi, Gerald
Editor:Waterhouse, William
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:1956
ISBN:none specified
Bond was born and educated in Gloucester where he was apprenticed to the Cathedral organist at the age of twelve. He moved to Coventry in 1749 and was appointed organist of the church of St. Michael and All Angels, which later became Coventry Cathedral, remaining in that post for forty years until his death in 1790. He strongly encouraged music in the Midlands, conducting the first Birmingham Music Festival in 1768 and directing the Coventry Musical Society in large scale works like Handel's 'Messiah' and 'Samson'.

Apart from the choral work '6 Anthems in Score' of 1769 which ran to 6 editions, Capel Bond's only published music was the 'Six Concertos in Seven Parts' which were produced in London in 1766. They consist of four concerti grossi and a concerto each for trumpet and bassoon which, while owing something in style to Bond's Midland contemporaries Richard Mudge and John Alcock, also suggest the influence of London-based composers of the time - Handel, Stanley and Geminiani. The bassoon concerto in Bb Major (No.6 of the set) is tending towards the 'galant' in style - appealing in its simplicity and elegance as distinct from the seriousness and grandeur of much baroque music. This suggests a later composition date, possibly in the 1760's but much of the first movement is very similar to a bassoon solo in William Boyce's oratorio 'Solomon' of 1742. Nevertheless, Capel Bond has been described as the best English provincial composer of his time.

The bassoon part and piano reduction of this 1956 Boosey & Hawkes edition were edited by the distinguished bassoonist and teacher William Waterhouse (1931-2007) and the British composer Gerald Finzi (1901-1956) arranged and edited the concerto as well as writing the introduction.

  • Andante
  • Adagio (tacet)
  • Affettuoso
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).