June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO for Treble Recorder

CONCERTO for Treble Recorder

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ridout, Alan (1934-1996)
Instrumentation:rec/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:E223

Price: £14.50
Arranger:Scott, Robert
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1991
ISBN:none specified
My Concerto for Recorder, Strings and Percussion was commissioned for Evelyn Nallen and the Guildford Philharmonic Orchestra and composed in 1979. I was much absorbed by composing concertante works at the time and in fact wrote six concertos that year, each involving a wind instrument. Somewhat amusingly there were two performances of the work within a month or so, each labelled a 'world premiere'. The first was for a TV feature about the writing of the piece and was with the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra conducted by Owain Arwel Hughes. However, this was not shown until the first live performance conducted by Vernon Handley had taken place.
Writing a concerto for recorder is not very easy. With a working range of about an octave-and-a-half it is difficult to give a feeling of virtuosity and with such a small sound the player can easily be swamped by the band. Yet it is a work of which I am very fond. As with a lot of my music it is a portrait of the dedicatee and the three movemen

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).