June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO in A minor FVII/5 PV42 RV461 Op.39 No.2

CONCERTO in A minor FVII/5 PV42 RV461 Op.39 No.2

(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:OBB24
Perhaps the last to be composed of Vivaldi's authentic concertos for oboe, strings and basso continuo, this work may have been written for the girl students of a Venetian orphanage.

Price: £14.50
Arranger:Kolneder, Walter
Editor:Kolneder, Walter
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1967
ISBN:none specified
Little of Vivaldi's music was published during his lifetime and quantities of unpublished material lay undiscovered until the twentieth century. Of the twenty or so oboe concertos attributed to him, eleven form part of a large collection assembled by the Biblioteca Nazionale in Turin and this includes RV461 which is possibly the last concerto Vivaldi wrote for oboe, strings and basso continuo. These Turin manuscripts are generally recognised as authentic and may well date from the period 1704-1740 when Vivaldi intermittently taught the orphaned and abandoned girls of the Ospedale della Pieta in Venice.

The first movement (Allegro non molto) has unusually short tutti ritornello sections while the oboe solos are correspondingly longer and quite demanding. The soloist has particularly lyrical melody lines in the second movement (Larghetto) over a stately chordal accompaniment, in the relative major; and the finale, marked Allegro, returns to the tonic minor and the driven tempo of the opening movement to bring the work to an exciting conclusion.

  • Larghetto
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Duncan Speirs
May 21, 2021
(Verified customer)
Very good. The member of staff went out of her way to get me the edition I wanted to buy. Thank you!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).