June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:HN801
The teenage Mozart's first wind concerto and a cornerstone of the bassoon concert repertoire.

Price: £15.99
Arranger:Petrenz, Siegfried
Editor:Herttrich, Ernst
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Breitkopf & Hartel
Year of Issue:2006
ISBN:none specified
The autograph score to this concerto is lost but it is known to have been written in Salzburg in 1774 and is the first wind concerto that Mozart composed. The only source available is a set of printed parts published by Andr'' in about 1790 with a second impression in 1805. It shows the eighteen year old Mozart moulding the music to achieve a balanced interplay between soloist and orchestra - a principle which was worked out to perfection in his later piano concertos. The fairly direct writing of the solo part of the Rondo finale suggests that Mozart might have had a talented amateur bassoonist in mind and that the dedicatee could have been Baron von D''rniz. He owned seventy-four works by Mozart, but the score to this concerto was not one of them.
In the Preface Ernst Herttrich, the accomplished musicologist and editor for Henle Verlag from 1970 to 1990, gives a detailed history of K.191, its provenance and its first publication. He includes a note on the editorial principles he has

  • Andante ma Adagio
  • Rondo - Tempo di Menuetto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).