June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO in Bb major K191

CONCERTO in Bb major K191

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:3611691
The teenage Mozart's first wind concerto and a cornerstone of the bassoon concert repertoire.

Price: £7.99
Arranger:Alley, John
Editor:Sheen, Graham
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Kevin Mayhew Ltd.
Year of Issue:2002
ISBN:none specified
The autograph score to this concerto is lost but it is known to have been written in Salzburg in 1774 and is the first wind concerto that Mozart composed. The only source available is a set of printed parts published by André in about 1790 with a second impression in 1805. It shows the eighteen year old Mozart moulding the music to achieve a balanced interplay between soloist and orchestra - a principle which was worked out to perfection in his later piano concertos. The fairly direct writing of the solo part of the Rondo finale suggests that Mozart might have had a talented amateur bassoonist in mind and that the dedicatee could have been Baron von Dürniz. He owned seventy-four works by Mozart, but the score to this concerto was not one of them.

The bassoon part has been edited by Graham Sheen who is the long serving Principal Bassoon of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields. He also performs as soloist and chamber musician and has over fifty published compositions and arrangements to his name. He has been Professor of Bassoon at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama since 1979.

After working extensively with the BBC Symphony Orchestra for several of their Proms Seasons, John Alley joined the London Symphony Orchestra as Principal Keyboard Player in 1994. He has accompanied soloists in this concerto many times for rehearsals or auditions, playing from a wide selection of orchestra to keyboard reductions, none of which were created with the accompanist in mind. Hence this version which John Alley has prepared by going back to the full score and making a reduction which is "…. more readily accessible to the pianist who is expected to represent the orchestra, often at very short notice."

  • Allegro
  • Andante ma Adagio
  • Rondo - Tempo di Menuetto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).