June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*
CONCERTO in C major FVIII/40, RV472, P.V.45

CONCERTO in C major FVIII/40, RV472, P.V.45

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:FAG14
One of nearly forty concertos for bassoon in three movement form, fast-slow-fast, by a 'giant' of the Italian Baroque.

Price: £16.99
Editor:Homolya, Istvan
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1971
ISBN:none specified
Antonio Vivaldi is widely hailed as an outstanding composer of the Baroque, but it is less well known that he was very probably the first to lift the bassoon from its low profile in the orchestra, or as a continuo instrument, to take the solo part in a concerto, or that he was the most prolific composer of bassoon concertos to date. Of the 350 concertos for solo instrument, strings and continuo attributed to Vivaldi, 230 are for his own instrument, the violin. About 38 of the remainder (this figure varies slightly between sources) are for bassoon, strings and cembalo; the manuscripts of which - apparently unpublished during the composer's lifetime - are held in the Turin Library. It is thought that they were written between 1704 and 1740 for the girls at the Ospedale della Pieta in Venice which was an orphanage, convent and music school with an outstanding orchestra where Vivaldi was employed for most of that time, latterly as 'Maestro de' Concerti' or Music Director.

Contrary to the light-hearted quip that Vivaldi wrote the same concerto 'x' number of times, each of his bassoon concertos has been described as "... novel, individual and most imaginative, and … , conceived as instrumental tone poems." The outer fast movements of this one use wide interval leaps to good effect, interspersed with more evenly written diatonic passages, particularly in the first movement which, after a 5 bar introduction, has a falling octave scale as a motif. The middle movement (Andante) has a lovely lyricism to it.

  • Allegro non molto
  • Andante molto
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).