June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
CONCERTO in F major Op.52

CONCERTO in F major Op.52

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Krommer, Franz (1759-1831)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:H1933
A 3 movement concerto (fast-slow-fast) by a prolific composer in the classical mould who is now best known for his wind ensemble music.

Price: £13.00
Skill Level:D/E
Year of Issue:1956
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Krommer (or Kramarz) received his early musical training from his uncle which was sufficient to gain him a place in the court orchestra of a Hungarian Count and its leadership while still in his twenties. He went on to become a choirmaster at Pécs in 1791 and then a military bandmaster followed by the directorship of Count Grassalkovics's orchestra at his palace near Budapest. Krommer settled in Vienna in 1794 where he made a name for himself as a teacher and composer and won favour with the Emperor Francis II, succeeding Leopold Kozeluh as his court composer.

At least 470 compositions are credited to Franz Krommer, 300 of them published including 9 symphonies, 70 string quartets and much "sonorous and idiomatic" music for wind ensemble for which he is best known today. He was strongly influenced by Haydn and Mozart, "but original ideas may be found in his works" which were well received by amateur players of the time for their technical accessibility.

The Oboe Concerto Op.52 was published in 1805, but sources give no clue as to the date of its composition. The vigorous and lengthy first movement is in sonata form and its theme, built around a rising four quaver motif, is developed in the solo part in virtuosic rococo style with answering imitations in the accompaniment which create an echo effect. All this contrasts with the second (slow) movement in ternary form with a lovely melody which has been compared to an operatic aria. The Rondo Finale is in a rollicking 6/8 "rich in contrasts and joyful melody."

  • I. Allegro
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Rondo

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).