June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
WE ARE OPEN FOR BUSINESS!! Important Delivery & Supply Information *Click Here*
CONCERTO in F minor Op.5

CONCERTO in F minor Op.5

Composer:Crusell, Bernhard Henrik (1775-1838)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:UE19084
Possibly the best of 3 good concertos written by the leading European clarinet virtuoso of his time.

Price: £20.50 £15.38
Arranger:Weston, Pamela
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Universal Edition
Year of Issue:1991
Crusell was born in Finland but his talents as a clarinettist were noticed by a Swedish army officer who, via a military band, moved his protégé to Stockholm at the age of 16 to continue learning the instrument. Two years later he joined the Swedish Court Orchestra and established himself as an international virtuoso with a concert tour of Europe at 23. Later, Crusell studied with Tausch in Berlin and was at the Paris Conservatoire in 1803 as a pupil of Lèfevre's. It is thought that he composed his three clarinet concertos at about this time and the present concerto in F minor is confidently dated by one source to 1815 at the latest. All three are generally accepted as amongst the best examples of wind concertos of their time and very much more than mere vehicles for the composer's solo virtuosity.
The title page of CF Peters 1818 edition of this concerto gives it the designation 'Grand' and dedicates it to Emperor Alexander I of Russia. Musically, it is no grander than the other two so it is thought that the word is used in tribute to the importance of the dedicatee. In the present edition, Pamela Weston has clarified ornaments and given editorial suggestions in brackets.

  • I Allegro
  • II Andante pastorale
  • III Rondo, Allegretto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).