June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders
COURT STUDIES from 'The Tempest'

COURT STUDIES from 'The Tempest'

Composer:Ades, Thomas
Instrumentation:cl. vn. vcl. pft.
Publisher Ref:0571568866

Price: £24.99
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Faber Music
Year of Issue:2005
For this series of Court Studies I have extracted six solo numbers for members of the Court of Naples from my and Meredith Oakes''s opera The Tempest and transcribed them freely for four instruments (violin, clarinet, cello and piano). The first three form a sequence in the opera: Antonio: ''Sir, I saw him in the water/Striking bravely for the land'' Sebastian: ''Milan, your vanity, your self-promotion/Have brought us to this godforsaken shore'' and the King of Naples: ''Oh Prince of Naples and Milan/What fish has made its meal on you?''. Ariel''s ventriloquistic interjections are omitted here, so the argument between Antonio and Sebastian is purely human and musical in origin.
The next two number s are presented out of sequence: Antonio: ''You''ll forgive at no cost/You''ve won I''ve lost'' is this last of the court arias, from near the end of the opera whereas Gonzalo: ''Sir, be cheerful/This is remarkable/Please don''t weep/Your Majesty'' is the first, sung when they''ve only ju

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).