June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Celebrate with a 50th Birthday discount! *Click Here*
DAEDALUS AND ICARUS (score & parts)

DAEDALUS AND ICARUS (score & parts)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Kahn, Robert
Instrumentation:cl/Eb. 3cl. acl. 2bcl.
Publisher Ref:DK0014

Price: £27.50
Skill Level:D
Publisher:De Klarinet Music Publishing
Year of Issue:2017
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Daedalus & Icarus was written during the summer of 2011, originally for string sextet. This was arranged this for clarinet choir, and dedicated to Corry Stoffelsma, Robert’s clarinet teacher, and to the Clarinet Choir Prinses Irene in Huizen, which she leads.
The piece is based on the Greek myth of Daedalus and Icarus. The story tells of Daedalus and his son Icarus, who are being held at Crete, the island ruled by King Minos. As escaping via the guarded harbors is impossible, Daedalus decides to build wings so he and his son can fly away. He urges his son to fly right behind him, to avoid having him fly too high or too low. After a successful departure, Icarus is overcome with confidence and begins to fly higher and higher, getting ever closer to the sun. Ultimately, the sun melts the wax that kept his wings together and Icarus plummets into the sea that to this day still bears his name: the Icarian Sea.
Robert Kahn grew up in The Netherlands, where he studied clarinet with Corry Stoffelsma. After high school, Robert moved to the United States to continue his music studies. He is currently in his second year of a Masters program in orchestral conducting, in New York City. He composes in his free time. For more information: www.robertkahn.com

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).