June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*


(0 reviews)  
Digital Download
Composer:Nash, Gary Powell (b.1964)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:e-GPN01
A short, 6 minute piece for bassoon and piano, composed using musical elements of the Allegro from J.S. Bach's Sonata II in A minor for solo violin.

Price: £6.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Gary Powell Nash
Year of Issue:1993
Deformation V, a six minute, single movement composition for bassoon and piano, completed February 6, 1993 was composed for Barrick Stees, bassoon and Phillip Hosford, piano and premiered by Mark Alex Williams, bassoon and Choonwoo Kim, piano on April 25, 1993 at the 'Premieres of New Music Concert' at Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI.
Out of all other 'Deformation' compositions written by Gary Powell Nash, Deformation V is the most successful, in regards to the title relating to the overall musical outcome. Using J.S. Bach’s Allegro from Sonata II in A minor for Solo Violin as a major premise, Nash took the 3 most common musical events from the J.S. Bach model, which include five note arpeggios, octave displacement and the motive 8th, 16th, 16th, 8th, 8th, 8th, 8th, 8th note rhythm and manufactured newer melodies and musical events. Deformation V commences with the bassoon performing a direct quote from the J.S. Bach model while the piano plays sustained dissonances underneath, occurring through the first eight measures. At measure 9, the music becomes more and more obscure from the model as Nash implements those newer discoveries into the composition. Such discoveries/musical events include quintuplet rhythms derived from the five note arpeggios and metric modulations based on those same patterns. Deformation V features fast paced music throughout much of the composition with a contrasting slow section in the middle, which concludes with a solo cadenza and return to the fast music in the opening section, as also displayed in all other Gary Powell Nash 'Deformations'.

Digital Delivery Details

Purchasers of PDF Digital Editions will receive two separate emails: one which contains the order confirmation and receipt; one which includes the links to your downloaded products. You will also find these links within the My Account area of the website - click on the relevant order number within the Downloads tab to find them. For this reason it is mandatory to register for, or log in to, your online account in order to purchase/retrieve Digital Editions.

Digital Editions are watermarked on every page with the purchaser’s name, email address, order date and order number.

A single Digital Edition may be split up into several PDF downloads. You will have 2 attempts to download each PDF. If you have any problems downloading the files, or both attempts are unsuccessful, please Contact us giving full details of the problems you've experienced and we'll do our best to resolve the issue.

Digital editions cannot be downloaded onto a mobile phone.

Please ensure that you check all your details are correct before confirming your order.

Please note that we cannot refund Digital Editions where a download has been attempted.

Please note that Digital Editions are for individual use only and NOT for resale.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).