June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Heiden, Bernhard (1910-2000)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:S151008
This piece was originally written for a US Army band in 1943 and transcribed for saxophone and piano by the composer in 1984.

Price: £12.99
Editor:Rogers, R. Mark
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Etoile Music Inc.
Year of Issue:2015
ISMN:none specified
Bernhard Heiden entered the Hochschule für Musik in Berlin in 1929 where he studied composition under Paul Hindemith. In 1935 he and his wife found refuge from Nazism in Detroit and Heiden taught music there for the next eight years, also conducting the Detroit Chamber Orchestra and giving recitals. He took American citizenship in 1941 and joined the army as Assistant Bandmaster to the 445th Army Service Band for which he produced over one hundred compositions and arrangements including 'Diversion' in 1943. The composer reduced the work for saxophone and piano in 1984.

The influence of the composer's teacher Hindemith ..."is evident in the tonal but non-diatonic harmonies, paired with Heiden's own melodic writing. Constructed in a loose rondo form, the work is light and tuneful, revealing a mastery of instrumentation. Graceful lines for the solo saxophone contrast with distinctive tutti sections, providing interesting variety and underlining climactic moments." This revised edition was carefully edited by R. Mark Rogers in 2015.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).