June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Royal Mail postal strikes planned for 13th, 20th, 25th & 28th October mean there will be no collections or deliveries on those dates. It will take a couple of days afterwards to return to normal service, so please bear this in mind when placing your order.


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Loudova, Ivana
Instrumentation:bcl. mba.
Publisher Ref:ALEA1095

Price: £20.00
Publisher:Alea Publishing
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
The Duo Concertante was composed in 1982 as a commission from the Dutch ensemble Duo Contemporaine (Henri Bok and Evert Le Mair). In addition to becoming part of that Duo's repertoire, the piece also intrigued the famous Czech bass clarinettist Josef Horák, Bok's teacher, who immediately after its completion premiered it with Emma Kovárnová (keyboard) in Biberach (Germany), and a year later played it with the marimbaphonist Miroslav Kokoska in Prague. The composer therefore dedicates the work to all of these musicians. The one-movement, extremely concentrated and exacting composition affords both players the opportunity to shine in cadenzas, but also to join in gentle passages, where in certain registers the timbres of the very different instruments almost match or even blend. ABOUT THE COMPOSER: One of the most prominent Czech composers of her generation, Ivana Loudová (1941-) has been a member of the composition faculty of the Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts in Prague since 1992. Her early studies in Prague were with Czech composers Miloslav Kabelac and Emil Hlobil, and this was followed by work in Paris with Olivier Messiaen and Andre Jolivet. Her vast catalog of compositions includes works for orchestra, various chamber ensembles, solo instruments, and voice.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).