June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:BA4225
Most of these sonatas were first published nearly 300 years ago and this edition is based on the composer's autograph hand-written scores.

Price: £20.50
Sub Title:Halle Edition
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Barenreiter Edition
ISBN:none specified
Nine of these sonatas were composed between 1724 & 1726 and first published by John Walsh of London in about 1731. From Handel's autograph manuscripts of five of those sonatas, it seems clear that they were not intended specifically for the transverse flute but it is known that the remaining four (HWV's 360, 362, 365 & 369) were written for recorder and basso continuo. Handel's reason for writing a substantial body of chamber music at this time is not known but he was teaching the daughters of the future King George II, one of whom was Princess Anne, his favourite pupil. The continuo parts of the four recorder sonatas are figured in unusual detail - possibly to instruct the princess in the technique of realizing a figured bass.

  • Sonata in E minor (HWV 359b)
  • Sonata in G minor (HWV 360)
  • Sonata in A minor (HWV 362)
  • Sonata in G major (HWV 363b) (8.04)
  • Sonata in C major (HWV 365) (10.31)
  • Sonata in B minor (HWV 367b) (16.30)
  • Sonata in F major (HWV 369)
  • APPENDIX - Three sonatas of doubtful authenticity.
  • Sonata in A minor (HWV 374)
  • Sonata in E minor (HWV 375)
  • Sonata in B minor (HWV 376)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).