June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Koechlin, Charles (1867-1950)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:EFM1008
These accompanied studies are said to be some of the most attractive of this little known composer's later pieces for wind instruments. This edition has been prepared by the internationally renowned saxophonist, composer and teacher, Jean-Marie Londeix.

Price: £25.50
Arranger:Londeix, Jean-Marie
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Gerard Billaudot
Year of Issue:1970
ISBN:none specified
For one who composed over two hundred works spread across such a wide range of genres, it is surprising that so little of Koechlin's music is published. He followed no system or school of composition but drew from a huge range of sources and inspirations, both musical and non-musical - Kipling's "Jungle Book" for his choral and symphonic poems, for instance and the personalities of such Hollywood celebrities as Douglas Fairbanks and Greta Garbo for his "Seven Stars" symphony. He wrote in any idiom he felt to be appropriate and, if musical influence is to be found in his compositions, Faure's is the most likely. Koechlin's work has been described as 'youthful and fresh' in contrast to the cynicism and pessimism of so much of twentieth century music. Why then is it so neglected?

The importance of a sustained melodic line was a cornerstone of Koechlin's teaching and this is exemplified in his various collections of accompanied pieces for wind instruments including the Etudes for alto saxophone and piano (Op.188) of 1943. Professor Robert Orledge, who is a leading scholar of early twentieth century French music says "with their rhythmic interest, direct approach, formal simplicity and balanced lengths, the saxophone studies form the most attractive group amongst Koechlin's later wind pieces."

  • 2. Pour les sons li�s et le charme de la sonorit� - 'On legato sound and the charm of sonority'
  • 3. Pour les arp�ges - 'On arpeggios'
  • 4. Pour la douceur des attaques - 'On soft attacks'
  • 5. Pour le charme du son dans un mouvement vif - 'On the charm of sound in a swift tempo'
  • 6. Pour le style soutenu et doux, en sons li�s - 'On sustained and soft legato sound'
  • 7. Pour les son li�s et le charme de la sonorit� - 'On legato sound and the charm of sonority'
  • 8. pour les notes en staccato, et le m�lange de legato et staccato - 'On staccato notes and the combination of legato and staccato'
  • 9. Pour la longueur de la respiration et l'�galit� du son - 'On breathing and evenness of sound'
  • 10. Pour la qualit� du son dans un style soutenu et pour les nuances - 'On sound quality in sostenuto and nuances'
  • 11. pour la solidit� du rythme - 'On the steadiness of rhythm'
  • 12. Pour l'�galit� du son et pour les nuances - 'On evenness of sound and nuances'
  • 13. pour la l�g�ret� du son - 'On lightness of sound'
  • 14. Pour une sonorit� soutenu et expressive, pour la douceur du grave et de l'aigu - 'On expressive and sustained sonority, on the softness of sound in the low and the high registers'
  • 15. pour les accents qui doivent donner le rythme de la phrase - 'On accents that give the musical phrase its rhythmical frame'

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).