June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Faure, Gabriel (1845-1924)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH55163
The only wind piece that Fauré wrote, towards the end of his forty year career as an organist, for which he wrote nothing. "Flute players are indeed fortunate that out of a handful of miniatures which he wrote for one instrument and piano, Faure has given us this gem." (Trevor Wye)

Price: £11.99
Editor:Wye, Trevor
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1989
ISMN:none specified
Faure moved to Paris in 1870 to the post of assistant organist at the new church of Notre Dame de Clignancourt, then in the northern suburbs. Although he preferred the piano, Fauré was to earn his living as a professional organist for the next forty years, combining this with teaching so that he achieved recognition in both spheres in 1896 by his appointment as chief organist to the church of La Madeleine and Professor of Composition at the Paris Conservatoire. He composed with "Discretion, reticence (and) restraint" at a time when Grand Opera was all the rage and so had no success with the Parisian musical public. It is known that Fauré had help from colleagues or pupils with the orchestration of some his larger works, possibly with all of them including the popular Requiem. But he knew his strengths - texture, melody and harmony and that his weakness lay in large scale, dramatic composition which he avoided to write instead exquisite and often hauntingly beautiful music.

The Fantaisie, Op.79 was written in 1898 at the request of Paul Taffanel who, as Flute Professor at the Paris Conservatoire and Fauré's colleague, wanted a virtuoso exam piece for his students. Fauré provided the Fantaisie with the clear advice that Taffanel should "modify unplayable passages" but as the autograph score is lost there is no way of telling what, if any changes were made. This is the only composition for wind in Faure's catalogue of over one hundred works. The thirty nine bar introduction is marked 'Andantino', nominally in the key of E minor but the tonality shifts alluringly. The body of the piece is centred around C Major/A minor, in a brisk 2/4 and 'brillante' in style.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).