June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bourgeois, Derek (1941-2017)
Publisher Ref:BW3304
Five unaccompanied pieces originally written to audition prospective members of the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, with 4 added for this publication, by a widely experienced teacher and composer.

Price: £9.75
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Brass Wind Publications
Year of Issue:1996
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
With his skill at writing a memorable tune and the ability to infuse his music with grandeur one moment and humour the next, Derek Bourgeois has been described as a natural successor to Malcolm Arnold as a composer.

After gaining a first class degree and a doctorate of music at Cambridge University, Bourgeois spent two years at the Royal College of Music in London where he studied composition with Herbert Howells and conducting under Sir Adrian Boult. He went into teaching, lecturing in music at Bristol University between 1971 and 1984 when he became Director of Music for the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain. Ten years later, he took up the Directorship of Music at St. Paul's Girl School in London, following in the footsteps of Gustav Holst and Howells, his teacher at the RCM.

Bourgeois's catalogue runs to 391 compositions and includes no less than 116 symphonies, works for a range of ensembles including several for brass band, 17 concertos, an opera and music for television. The 'Fantasy Pieces', written specially for bassoon, were published in 1996 with comprehensive technical advice provided for each of the nine pieces by Robert Porter, sub-principal bassoon of the London Mozart Players and a senior member of the teaching staff at the Guildhall School of Music. Derek Bourgeois introduces them with the following "Written originally as test pieces for the National Youth Orchestra auditions my intention was to cover many different technical problems within a short time span and overall musical structure. In addition to the five longer pieces …. I have added four shorter ones to make up the set."

  • 2 Moderato con moto
  • 3 Alla marcia
  • 4 Tempo di valse
  • 5 Allegro moderato
  • 6 Moderato
  • 7 Allegro vivace
  • 8 Allegro feroce
  • 9 Moderato con moto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).