June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Finger, Godfrey (c.1655/6''1730)
Instrumentation:rec/A. bc/pft.
Publisher Ref:EB8388
Five sonatas by the composer of the first sonatas for solo instrument and continuo to be published in England. Despite a successful career in London, the colourful inventiveness of the music of his native Moravia never left him.

Price: £16.55
Sub Title:Funf Sonaten
Editor:Kubitschek, Ernst
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Breitkopf & Hartel
Year of Issue:1983
Gottfried Finger was born in Olomouc in the present day Czech Republic where the Prince Bishop, who strongly patronized the arts and music in particular, keeping in touch with the latest musical trends in Vienna, employed him in his ensemble. In the mid 1680s Finger moved to London and won a hotly contested post at James II's chapel in 1687. He published his Op.1 the following year when James II went into exile, but Finger remained in England and published several more collections intended for the growing number of amateur musicians, including the first set of sonatas for solo instrument and continuo to be published in England, in 1690. He had some success with opera but when he was beaten in a competition to set to music Congreve's masque 'The Judgement of Paris', Finger returned to employment on the Continent in cities such as Berlin, Heidelberg and Mannheim where he founded an orchestra which was later to win international fame, and it was there that he ended his days.
Finger's O

  • Sonata II, c minor - Adagio Allegro Adagio Presto
  • Sonata III, Bb Major - Allegro Allegro Vivace Allegro
  • Sonata IV, g minor - Adagio Vivace Adagio Presto
  • Sonata V, C Major - Vivace Allegro Vivace Adagio Presto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).