June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FLUTE SONATAS Volume 1 (Op.1) Urtext

FLUTE SONATAS Volume 1 (Op.1) Urtext

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:E160a
Six of these seven sonatas were first published nearly 300 years ago and the present editor, Lionel Salter, has used Handel's autograph manuscript scores and printed sources to produce the most authentic edition possible.

Price: £16.50
Arranger:Salter, Lionel
Editor:Salter, Lionel
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1981
ISBN:none specified
George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1759) was a German-born, British Baroque composer famous for his operas, oratorios, anthems and organ concertos. Born in a family indifferent to music, Handel received critical training in Halle, Hamburg and Italy before settling in London (1712), and became a naturalized British subject in 1727. He was strongly influenced both by the great composers of the Italian Baroque and the middle-German polyphonic choral tradion.
Of the seven sonatas in this edition, five were composed between 1724 & 1726 and first published by John Walsh of London in about 1731. From Handel's autograph manuscripts, it seems clear that only Op.1, No.1b (HWV 379) was intended specifically for the transverse flute but it is known that four (HWV's 360, 362, 365 & 369) were written for recorder and basso continuo. Handel's reason for writing a substantial body of chamber music at this time is not known but he was teaching the daughters of the future King George II, one of whom was P

  • Sonata No.2 in G Minor (HWV 360)
  • Sonata No.4 in A Minor (HWV 362)
  • Sonata No.5 in G (HWV 363b) (8.04)
  • Sonata No.7 in C (HWV 365) (10.31)
  • Sonata No.9 in B Minor (HWV 367b)
  • Sonata No.11 in F (HWV 369)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).