June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Publisher Ref:214502

Price: £14.95
Arranger:Turner, Kerry
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Phoenix Music Publications
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Claude Debussy (1862-1918) was the foremost of the French Impressionistic composers. His innovative use of harmony, rhythm and melody as colour had great influence over most of the major composers of the early 20th century, not only in France but in the rest of world as well.
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937), though greatly influenced by Debussy, retreated from the indistinctness of Debussy's use of melody, harmony, rhythm and structure, choosing for more functionalism in all of his compositional devices. His superb feel for and use of colour, and his conceptual use of "moods" and "atmospheres" ties him irrevocably to the French Impressionistic Period.
Ravel's Pavane pour une Infante défunte is a good example of this - a piece written with a suggestive title as in much of Debussy's music, but containing much clearer and longer melodic and harmonic lines. Composed for piano in 1899, Ravel exploited the rich inherent timbres by setting it for orchestra in 1910. Also originally composed for piano, Debussy's Tarantelle Styrienne gently plays with the ambiguity of the 3/4 and 6/8 meters. It was republished in 1903 as "Danse".

  • Ravel/Turner - Pavane pour une Infante défunte
  • Debussy/Winter - Tarantelle Styrienne

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).