June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Watts, Sarah
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:3611886
A collection of 18 original graded pieces and studies (Grades 1-3) in a mixture of styles.

Price: £6.99
Sub Title:Pieces & Studies
Skill Level:A/B
Publisher:Kevin Mayhew Ltd.
Sarah Watts grew up in a musical household but seems to have been set on a musical career, when she was 12, by attending an Avril Dankworth Music Camp which embraced all types of music and all levels of competence. She was later inspired by John Dankworth's and Cleo Laine's 'Allmusic Courses' which led her to the concept of the "Dankworth Allmusic Philosophy" which she seems to have kept by her at the Royal College of Music in London where she studied the bassoon. Not long after leaving college, Sarah Watts discovered a love of teaching so she took a PGCE and combined playing professionally with teaching and composing educational music. She writes" I love composing and especially enjoy writing music that will be useful to other 'educators'. My desire is to write music that makes people want to play."

The 12 pieces and 6 studies in this collection are all original compositions in a variety of styles. Some of them are unique to the bassoon version of 'Fresh Air' and some cannot be categorized easily, except to say that they are tuneful. There is a hoedown, a waltz and a swing number and most of the collection is in 4/4 with occasional ventures into 3/4 and 6/8. The most used keys are C Major/A minor followed by F Major and as far as A Major on the sharp side, to Eb Major on the flat side. But setting aside such technicalities, these pieces have been written " just for the fun of playing."

  • Precious Times
  • Humdinger Hoedown
  • Waltz for One Day
  • Caf� du Festival
  • The Road to Lallengollen (sic)
  • Straight and Narrow
  • Sunshine Green
  • Going On
  • Sailing Free
  • Shiny Shoe Shimmy
  • Shrimps
  • Study in Green
  • Study in Grey
  • Study in Yellow
  • Study in Red
  • Study in Silver
  • Study in Orange

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).