June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ardovino, Lori
Instrumentation:sop. cl.
Publisher Ref:PM30061

Price: £14.95
Publisher:Potenza Music
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
"From a Crack in the Wall" (2012) was written for and dedicated to Escape 2 Create, 2012, and was premiered while in residency. The work is inspired by poems written by Japanese women poets, with dates ranging from the 10th to the 16th centuries, who centered on sounds heard in nature and appreciated as aesthetically meaningful, and including as well the silence of a sound, which indirectly suggests the sound itself. These poems were also composed in the context of a traditional natural sound that may not be mentioned directly. These womenn were highly respected, Princess Shikishi, a royal Shinto priestess, strongly influenced by Buddhism, Chiyo-ni, a Pure Land Buddhist nun, a very liberated, independent woman, Otagaki Regetsu, tained in martial arts, acclaimed as a waka poet, as well as a calligrapher and potter, and a Buddhist nun, Michitsuna no Haha, the poet develops enlightened connections that leap beyond the finite place of where a sight or a sound resides, the finger cymbals, representing temple bells, and the clarinet imitates the Japanese shakuhachi flute. In "From a Crack in the Wall", the clarinet imitates a rubbed sound, such as with kaydids with specialized organs which make a sound when rubbed together. Many objects were also found nature, for example, the rainstick, a wooden tube encasing cactus needles, used in "Each Time the Shower Returns," implying rain.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).