June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FUGUE in G minor (score & parts)

FUGUE in G minor (score & parts)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Publisher Ref:Sax704

Price: £18.00
Arranger:Davies, Stephen
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Saxtet Publications
Year of Issue:2013
ISBN:none specified
This is an arrangement for saxophones of the Fugue by J.S.Bach from the Fantasia & Fugue in G Minor (BWV542), and a perfect example of the genre whose definition is music where strands of melody are woven together into a rich texture.
It is generally agreed that Bach wrote the whole work for performance in Hamburg when he went there from Weimar in 1720, and performed for the 97-year-old Hamburg organist, Reinken. The original Fantasia was derived in style from Buxtehude, but the theme of the jolly Fugue featured here is based on one by Reinken himself - or is at least a tribute to the old mans Dutch connections. .
Whatever the history of the music, in this arrangement the players are driven at a furious pace from bar 1 to bar 229, the melody line artfully dovetailed between all the parts, making for a piece that demands playing again and again.
Edition Notes:
The Fugue in G Minor is already available as a Saxophone / Clarinet quintet and has even been expanded by Nigel Wood for t

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).