June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Digital Download
Composer:Gipps, Ruth (1921-1999)
Instrumentation:hn. pft.
Publisher Ref:e-E734
Very much in the Romantic tradition, Ruth Gipps dedicated this concerto to her son, Lance Baker, who gave the first performance in the Duke''s Hall (Guildhall School of Music) in 1969 with her London Repertoire Orchestra. See Description for hire information.

Price: £19.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2020
ISBN:none specified
Ruth Gipps dedicated the Horn Concerto to her son, Lance Baker, who gave the first performance in the Duke''s Hall (Guildhall School of Music) in 1969 with her London Repertoire Orchestra. The concerto is in the Romantic tradition, though with a basically classical-sized orchestra (with three horns and a little percussion). The first movement ''Con Moto'' is broadly diatonic, with many unexpected side-shifts to unrelated keys and much use of syncopation. The cadenza builds tonal structures using arpeggios and exploits the whole range of the instrument. The Scherzo is in traditional ternary form, mainly in 7/8 time and the horn and orchestra interact in chamber music style. The Finale, ''Allegro Ritmico'' has a busy chattering theme passed between the soloist and the orchestra. A central slower section in which the muted horn duets with the celeste creates a unique sound-world, before the final spirited conclusion.
An A4 study score is available to purchase (E737)
Orchestral material is available to hire.

  • Scherzo
  • Finale: Allegro Ritmico

Digital Delivery Details

You will receive two separate emails: one which contains the order confirmation and receipt; one which includes the links to your downloaded products.
You will also find these links within the My Account area of the website - click on the relevant order number within the Downloads tab to find them. For this reason it is mandatory to register for, or log in to, your online account in order to purchase/retrieve Digital Editions.

Digital Editions are watermarked on every page with the purchaser’s name, email address, order date and order number.

You have 2 attempts to download each PDF. If you have any problems downloading the files, or both attempts are unsuccessful, please Contact us giving full details of the problems you've experienced and we'll do our best to resolve the issue.

- Digital editions cannot be downloaded onto a mobile phone.
- Please ensure that you check all your details are correct before confirming your order.
- We cannot refund Digital Editions where a download has been attempted.
- Digital Editions are for individual use only and NOT for resale.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).