June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT Changes to Working Hours and Despatch Times - *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Instrumentation:hn. vn. pft.
Publisher Ref:BA9435

Price: £26.50
Editor:Hogwood, Christopher
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Barenreiter Edition
Year of Issue:2012
ISBN:none specified
Listen to the 3rd movement of this piece played by Nicola and Ben Goldscheider with James Sherlock (copy and paste link into your browser): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEjbpFL4ZqY
Brahms’s famous Horn Trio Op.40, composed in 1865 for the natural horn, is a work of considerable significance within the composer’s output. Up until now the work was believed to have a strong emotional connection to the death of his mother three months earlier.
However, Christopher Hogwood draws on a newly discovered source for this Bärenreiter publication, a source that has not been available for any previous edition. We now learn that Brahms wrote at least the trio movement some twelve years earlier – in 1853 – and that it was originally intended for solo piano. This piano movement is printed in the appendix.
This Urtext edition offers not only the standard instrumentation of violin, horn and piano but also the alternative scoring for violoncello or viola instead of horn. The variants found in the violoncello and viola parts are shown as ossias in the score.
The introduction (Eng/Ger) describes the compositional process, includes information on the performance and publication history of the work, and offers comments on performance practice. A critical commentary with facsimile pages of the manuscript rounds off this pioneering edition.
- Appendix with the 1853 piano version of the trio movement
- Includes alternative parts for violoncello and viola

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).