June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Frith, John (b.1947)
Instrumentation:hn. vn. pft.
Publisher Ref:E717
An idiomatic and accessible work, giving the performer ample opportunity for generous and expressive playing within a proudly English musical landscape.

Price: £17.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:2017
ISBN:none specified
“I first learned of the ‘Horn Trio’ by Johannes Brahms while still a student at Dartington College of Arts and it had a profound effect on me when I heard it performed by Alan Civil, Hugh Bean and David Parkhouse at a concert in Plymouth in 1967. As a novice horn player and composer I dreamt of being able to join Lennox Berkeley and the many other composers inspired by these luscious musical sonorities and this work of great genius by Brahms. Now in my late sixties I feel ready to tackle this project and I am delighted that the piece has now been published. The writing is, I hope, idiomatic and accessible giving the performer ample opportunity for generous and expressive playing within a proudly English musical landscape. Within these four movements I have tried to create a work of beauty reflecting something of the world about us with a dash of fire reserved for the final rondo.” - John Frith 2017

John Frith (b.1947) is a Hampshire man, with a lifelong love of music. His professional training began at Dartington College of Arts and continued at the Guildhall School of Music, where he studied horn and also composition with Edmund Rubbra. John won both Brass and School Composition Prizes in 1970 and 1971.
Having combined professional horn playing with teaching for some years, John now works for Worcestershire Instrumental Service in the dual role of brass teacher and composer-in-residence in county schools, developing creative projects with young children.
John has written extensively for wind, brass, strings and voices and has published many pieces for various combinations of instruments including large orchestral pieces, some of which have been broadcast by the BBC.
John is enjoying a productive retirement devoted to composing.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).