June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Celebrate with a 50th Birthday discount! *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ogawa, Akiko
Instrumentation:bcl+cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:ALEA1091

Price: £26.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Alea Publishing
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
This piece is dedicated to the Japan Tsunami victims, who have lost lives, families and hope. The title, Inori, means 'prayer' in Japanese. The work features primarily the bass clarinet, with the final section requiring a switch to B-flat clarinet. This artful piece is an outstanding addition to the performance repertoire for the advanced bass clarinetist. Inori received its world premiere on July 26, 2012, with clarinetist Lucy Downer and the composer at the piano, at St. Pancras Parish Church in London. ABOUT THE COMPOSER: Akiko Ogawa was born in Nagoya, Japan. She started to play the piano at the age of four, and began composing three years later. In September 1994, she was awarded a bursary to study at the Purcell School, where she learnt composition with Alison Cox, Melanie Daiken, Brian Elias and Richard Dubugnon. In September 2000, Akiko went on to study composition at the Royal Academy of Music, studying under Paul Patterson, where she graduated with Honours. Akiko completed her MPhil in Musical Composition at St. Edmund's College, Cambridge under Robin Holloway, where she was chosen to be the president of the music society. In July 2011, Akiko was awarded her PhD in Composition at the University of York, where she studied under Roger Marsh. Akiko has had a number of her ensemble works performed by the Okeanos ensemble across the UK, including a performance of Interweaving at the Vale of Glamorgan Festival in 2005, and a performance of Koyo in Dartington in 2009. In 2008, her second clarinet concerto, The White Bird, premiered at the Royal Festival Hall, performed by Mark van de Wiel and members of the Philharmonia Orchestra. Akiko has taken part in the International Dartington Summer Course in 2009 and 2010, where she was instructed by Somei Satoh and Julian Anderson respectively.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).