June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Elliott, Vernon (1912-1996)
Instrumentation:bn/vc/rec/fl/ob/vn/cl/bcl/sax/T. pft.
Publisher Ref:PAT60603
A suite of 4 short pieces arranged by the composer from his score for a 1958 TV animated cartoon series about an imaginary steam railway engine. As well as a bass solo part there are parts in treble clef for C and Bb instruments.

Price: £14.99
Skill Level:B/C
Publisher:Paterson Publications
Year of Issue:1982
ISMN:none specified
After winning a scholarship to the Royal College of Music, Vernon Elliott later became Professor of Bassoon there as well as teaching at Trinity College of Music where he also directed the College orchestra and opera. He was a founder member and principal bassoon of the Philharmonia Orchestra for many years in addition to playing with all the other celebrated British orchestras.

Elliott's composing career began in 1958 with the theme music to 'Ivor the Engine' which was a black & white 'stop motion' animated television series, initially of six short episodes but later extended to many more, which told the story of a little steam railway engine in an imaginary part of northwest Wales. According to the introduction to this four movement suite which is drawn from the music for the TV series, "Life on the railway is peaceful, chaotic and solemnly absurd". The Signature Tune (No.1) depicts Ivor rattling along the rails, occasionally blowing his whistle and his friend Bluebell (a donkey) can be heard 'ee-oreing' alongside him in 'The Donkey Trot' (No.2). Numbers 3 and 4 are made up of phrases from the film score, originally written to enhance the atmosphere and arranged into coherent melodies for accompanied solo instrument.

'Ivor the Engine' was originally written for bassoon and piano but this set includes parts in treble clef for other instruments in C and for Bb instruments, as shown under 'Instrumentation'.

  • No.2 The Donkey Trot
  • No.3 A Little Reverie
  • No.4 A Gentle Waltz

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).