June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Wilson, Jeffery
Publisher Ref:CAMDEN278
A set of 9 unaccompanied pieces or studies "... which emulate the style of various famous jazz players."

Price: £9.95
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Camden Music
Year of Issue:2014
ISBN:none specified
Jeffery Wilson studied at the Royal College of Music in London with John Lambert, Herbert Howells and Gordon Jacob, and later, with Olivier Messiaen in Paris. He has so far written about two hundred works, over thirty of them for dance, the stage or musicals and more than a third of his compositions have been published. He gives recital performances and, for 26 years, has performed with the contemporary saxophone quartet 'Saxology' and other ensembles including his own band 'The Reduced History of Jazz'. Jeffery Wilson is an experienced teacher, examiner and adjudicator who was a supervisor in the Music Faculty at Cambridge University for a number of years, teaching history, analysis and jazz. He is now Professor of Composition at Junior Guildhall and Professor of Saxophone at the Royal Military School of Music, besides teaching privately.
Each one of these nine 'Jazz Paraphrases' is introduced with the name of the player and style to which it pays tribute. From that come the compose

  • Splodges (Johnny Hoges)
  • Sidney (Sidney Bechet)
  • Sonny Daze (Sonny Rollins)
  • Gerry Cool (Gerry Mulligan)
  • Take Desmond (Paul Desmond)
  • Trane Journey (John Coltrane)
  • Getz A Go (Stan Getz)
  • Fly Bird (Charlie Parker)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).